One of the most common topics in the moment when some of the persons that are close to us is diagnosed with dementia is the stage or the level of dementia which gives us more insight to the development and progression of this disease. The symptoms of dementia can be very different, starting from mild loss of memory to difficulties in finishing everyday tasks. These symptoms are mostly categorized depending on the stage of dementia.

For those who don’t know, dementia is described as chronic loss of memory which significantly affects quality of life. Even though there is no cure for this disease, learning more about its stages can help you find out more about the things you can expect if some of your loved ones start dealing with dementia. There are medicines that are available in pharmacies that can help people cope with dementia. However, not all medicines are adequate for each stage of dementia. The type of medicine that should be used is closely related to the stage of dementia.

Stage 1

This is the stage when the disease is almost unrecognizable. The signs and symptoms are difficult to notice. The person is able to finish almost all tasks in a normal way and it can function normally.

Stage 2

This is a very mild stage in which signs are barely noticeable and usually occur as forgetfulness which is often associated with aging like forgetting keys. However, the person will soon figure out what they have forgotten.

Stage 3

Stage 3 or the mild stage occurs when the individual is able to finish everyday activities like waking up, going to the bathroom, dressing etc. Some of the symptoms at this stage include: loss of memory, light forgetfulness, confusion during driving, lack of concentration, problems associated with taking medicines etc.

Stage 4

At this stage, individuals start experiencing problems with everyday activities like washing, cooking or using tech gadgets. Some other symptoms and signs include: incontinence, increased forgetfulness and memory loss, increased social isolation etc.

Stage 5

Stage 5 is diagnosed when the individual needs someone else’s help to finish simple tasks. It is not unusual for these individuals to experience difficulties in communication, significant memory loss, help with dressing etc.

Stage 6

This serious stage occurs when the individual needs more help with some everyday activities. They can’t dress on their own, they forget the names of the people around them, they can’t use the bathroom without help etc.

Stage 7

This is the most serious stage that is accompanied with symptoms like loss of verbal skills, incontinence, assistance when eating, rapid loss of muscle mass etc.

A good home care agency can help you with in home care services regardless of the stage of dementia.